IS EXERCISE A SOLUTION FOR CROHNS?

image

Crohn’s disease, also known as Crohn syndrome and regional enteritis, is a type of inflammatory bowel disease that may affect any part of the gastrointestinal tract from mouth to anus, causing a wide variety of symptoms. It primarily causes abdominal pain, diarrhea (which may be bloody if inflammation is at its worst), vomiting (can be continuous), or weight loss but may also cause complications outside the gastrointestinal tract such as anemia, skin rashes, arthritis, inflammation of the eye, tiredness, and lack of concentration. Being diagnosed with Crohns more than a decade ago, I know personally how awful this disease is. Your body fights itself; making it very difficult to eat and maintain a healthy weight. If I had to explain it, it’s like eating bad seafood everyday. And everything you put in your mouth triggers the same reaction. There is no cure. Drs have no idea how to control or stop it and it physically and mentally consumes your life. I can’t lie, I fell victim to Drs feeding me pill after pill with not even an inkling of promise. I did that for seven years and honestly I felt worse, At that point, I almost had to have some of my intestines removed. Laying in the hospital I decided to go back to the only way I knew how to live, without pills, daily exercise and maintain a specific nutritional plan. I have always been fit.  I live in the gym and eat very well. When the Crohns came, it consumed me and no one knew enough to coach me out of the hole. Now people with Crohns will have me as a resource.  This is how I did it.  I am not a Dr, but I firmly believe no one knows ones own body better then themselves. I started with finding a good quality protein shake. Preferably lactose free, low sugar, and no mass building elements (creatine,,.androl…etc) Second, start exercising everyday, even if you’re sick and don’t want to. Enhanced blood flow has been shown to help pass a flare up more times than not.  Laying around being sick slows your metabolism, getting up and making your body move will increase metabolism and blood flow, giving your body new blood at a faster pace. Third step, figure out what makes you sick and write it down.  Knowing what triggers a flare up gives you more ability to stabilize your symptoms. Protein shakes are for nutrition when solid food is too much.  Ultimately, we have to feed our bodies, if we don’t we get sicker. I have gone six days without one piece of solid food, drinking shakes when I could and I maintained my weight. When you can eat, eat steamed chicken and plain white rice till the flare up passes. The sooner you educate yourself what to eat and what not to eat the sooner you can get to better health. Exercise should be done everyday, weight train 3-4 times a week and moderate cardio on the others. I guarantee that the hr or so you are exercising will be the most pain free hour of the day. Crohns is going to hurt, but with self discipline you can have a better quality of life. This isn’t a miracle cure for Crohns, but it is a system I swear to and even the health professionals are starting to pay attention to it.  If you are on multiple meds and they aren’t working, talk to your Dr about how exercise and nutrition can help give you a better life. 

Leave a Reply

